alv_tau ad Apply Online Apply Online

University of Agricultural Sciences

Bookmark and Share
University of Agricultural Sciences logo
It was Her Excellency Maharani Kempa Nanjammanni Vani Vilasa Sannidhi the Regent of Mysore in 1899 who donated 30 acres of land for Experimental Agricultural Station at Hebbal and appointed Dr Lehmann, German Scientist to initiate research on soil crop response with Laboratory in the Directorate of Agriculture. Later in 1906, Dr Leslie Coleman, Canadian Entolomologist and Mycologist who succeeded Dr Lehmann and served with missionary zeal for 25 years. This Experimental Station was allotted 202 acres with 30 acres of wetland, receiving rainfall of 808 mm later. In 1913, Sir M Vishveshwaraiah, the then Diwan of Mysore (1912-1919) played the key role in establishing the Mysore Agriculture residential School at Hebbal in 1913 and appointed Dr Leslie Coleman, the first Director of Agriculture, Mysore to head this School to offer Licentiate in Agriculture for 15 students annually. In 1946: Mr MA Srinivasan, Minister of Agriculture, took initiative to establish Agriculture College, Hebbal, for offering four year professional degree program in Agriculture affiliated to the University of Mysore. In 1956, Sri Kengal Hanumanthaiah, the Chief Minister, decided to construct a new building for Agriculture College, and laid the Foundation Stone on 25/Jan/1956. In 1961, GOI constituted Agricultural University Committee headed by Dr Ralph Cummings of Rockefeller Foundation. The Committee visited Hebbal Bangalore in June 1961 and submitted a favorable report for formation of Agricultural University at Hebbal. In 1963, Government of Mysore headed by Sri S Nijalingappa, CM, in April decided to establish UAS along the lines of Land Grant College system of USA and passed the University of Agricultural Sciences Bill (Act No. 22) which received assent of the President of India on 25th May 1963 to become the Law. The CM granted 1300 acres to Gandhi Krishi Vigjana Kendra Campus. In 1964, Government appointed Dr KC Naik, MSc, Ph.D (Bristol) working with USAID as the first Vice Chancellor on 12th June 1964.
The UAS was inaugurated by Dr Zakir Hussain, the Vice President of India on the 21st Aug 1964 in the august presence of Mr Chester Bowles, the then US Ambassador to India and Sri S Nijalingappa, the then CM. In 1969: Smt Indira Gandhi, the then Prime Minister, inaugurated GKVK campus on 12th July.
In 1958, Veterinary College, Hebbal was established. On October 1, 1965, the Colleges of Agriculture at Hebbal, and Dharwad, Veterinary College at Hebbal, 35 research stations located all over Karnataka and 45 ICAR schemes which were with the State Department of Agriculture, Horticulture, Animal Husbandry and Fisheries were transferred to the newly established University of Agricultural Sciences, Bangalore. Later, Marine Product Processing Training Centre (MPPTC) at Mangalore and the Krishi Vignana Kendra, Hanumanamatti, Dharwad district were transferred to the University.
The University established Fisheries College at Mangalore in 1969 to offer Bachelor of Fisheries Science training and the Agricultural Engineering Institute at Raichur to offer three year diploma in Agricultural Engineering.
In 1974, Home Science College was started to impart education in rural home science at Dharwad campus, besides establishing a College of Basic Sciences and Humanities and College of Post Graduate Studies at Hebbal.
The University began its academic activities by offering in degree programs in Agriculture and Veterinary disciplines. Later degree program in Fisheries science was added with the establishment of Fishery college at Mangalore. Due to need for horticulture specialization, degree program in Horticulture was added with the establishment of Horticulture college at Mudigere. The degree program in Dairy science was added by starting the Dairy Science College, at Hebbal. The Department of Agricultural Marketing and Cooperation was newly created which commenced the degree program in Agricultural Marketing and Cooperation. The new college of Forestry in Ponnampet, South Kodagu, offered the degree program in Forestry, the new college of Sericulture at Chintamani offered the degree program in Sericulture. The Chintamani campus also offers BSc(Agri) program from 2007. The Department of Agricultural Engineering offered the Bachelors degree in Agricultural Engineering. This heralded ruralization of education utilizing the facilities in the already existing Agricultural Research Stations.
Currently the recently and newly created Karnataka Veterinary, Animal and Fisheries Sciences University with headquarters at Bidar, is offering the Veterinary science, Dairy science and Fishery science degree programs
These details are retrieved from
Mission & Vision
* To make agricultural education responsive to the growing and changing needs of the society in general and aspirations of the farming community in particular.
* To establish a dynamic system of agricultural education to train highly skilled and competent manpower to address the challenging tasks with new emerging areas of research, extension and industry.

* To develop suitable end-use technologies to solve farmers’ problems vis-à-vis agricultural production including animal husbandry and fisheries and foster research aimed at conceptual advances in all disciplines for technology development in the long run.
* To establish state-of-art infrastructure including well-equipped laboratories, extensive farmlands and an operational research management system that will ensure quick, efficient and cost effective implementation of research programmes.
* To attract qualified and talented personnel to undertake research in the University.

* To ensure that the research findings and innovations, after their proven demonstration, are communicated to the farmers on a logistically feasible scale. This mechanism acts as an interface between farmers and researchers and enables identification of problems through a positive feed back.
* To reach the knowledge and technology to farmers on a wider scale by training the grassroot level workers and officers of the state departments of agriculture, horticulture and sericulture on recent advances in the respective fields through subject matter specialists
University of Agricultural Sciences images
Image 1
University of Agricultural Sciences images
Image 2
University of Agricultural Sciences images
Image 3
Bachelors of Technology (Agricultural Engineering)
B.Sc (Forestry)
Master of Technology (Agricultural Engineering) in : Soil & Water Conservation Engineering Post Harvest Process & Food Engineering
Subjects Master of Science Agricultural Entomology Agricultural Extension Agricultural Microbiology Plant Pathology Soil Science & Agril.Chemistry Agricultural Economics H...
 No Results Found!
No Results Found!
Please Login to view the contact details
Click Here to Login.
I agree to the Terms of use and Privacy Policy
If interested, fill in the details for
* E-Brochure
* Admission and Scholarship details
I agree to the Terms of use and Privacy Policy
Club for Education
About Us  -   About ICC  -   Contact Us  -   Feedback  -   FAQ  -   Privacy Policy  -   Terms and Conditions  -   Sitemap
Partner Universities : Study MBBS in CHINA  -   Study Engineering in CHINA  -   Study MBBS in Philippines  -   Study Engineering in Philippines