alv_tau ad Apply Online Apply Online

Study in India

State / City
Course / Category
Example: Delhi
Example: MBA

Study Abroad

Country / Province
Course / Category

The CGFNS Certification Program (CP) is designed specifically for first-level general (Registered) nurses educated outside the United States who wish to pursue a career in the U.S. as registered nurses. The program comprises of three parts:

A credentials review of your nursing education, registration and licensure
The CGFNS Qualifying Exam testing nursing knowledge (Offered four times a year in over 40 test sites worldwide)
An English language proficiency examination.

In order to be eligible for the CGFNS Qualifying Exam, you must have completed a minimum number of hours of both classroom instruction and clinical practice in Adult Medical/Surgical Nursing, Maternal/Infant Nursing (Obstetrics), excluding Gynecology, Care of Children (Pediatrics), and Psychiatric/Mental Health Nursing, excluding Neurology.

If you have not completed any and/or an insufficient number of hours in each of the above areas, you will be ineligible to take the CGFNS Qualifying Exam until you complete an entire course (both theory and clinical) in the deficient area from a government-approved nursing school.

You must also have been registered

One of the primary differences between the NCLEX-RN and NCLEX-PN is the different number of questions. Please review the following chart:

As a first-level (Registered) nurse in your country of education.
Currently hold a registration/license as a Registered Nurse in some jurisdiction.
Verification of both registrations must be sent to CGFNS directly from the licensing body(ies).

Applicants may select from the following three English Proficiency examinations to take as part of the Certification Program:

1. Test of English as a Foreign Language (TOEFL)

Administered by the Educational Testing Service (ETS) Passing Score: 540 (paper/pencil version) 207(computerized version)

2. Test of English for International Communication (TOEIC).

Administered by the Educational Testing Service (ETS) Passing Score: 725

3. International English Language Testing System (IELTS)

Administered by IELTS International Passing Score: 6.5 Overall (Academic Module)

About the Credentials Evaluation Service

The CGFNS International Credentials Evaluation Service (CES) analyzes the credentials of multiple types and levels of health care professionals who are educated outside of the United States and who wish to pursue licensure or academic admission in the United States.
      The CES report is advisory in nature and does not make specific placement recommendations. The process generally takes from 6 to 8 weeks after receipt of all required documentation and fees. Processing times may vary during periods of high volume.
      The resulting CES report serves as a valuable tool for regulatory/licensing agencies, specialty certification authorities, academic institutions, immigration attorneys, prospective employers and others. It also helps qualified applicants demonstrate the merits of their credentials with regard to U.S. standards, facilitating their pursuit of educational or career opportunities in the United States. We suggest you contact the organization (the recipient) that asked to receive your CES Report and find out which type of report they require.

Join ICC
Email ID
Type of User
I agree to the Terms of use and Privacy Policy
About Us  -   About ICC  -   Contact Us  -   Feedback  -   FAQ  -   Privacy Policy  -   Terms and Conditions  -   Sitemap
Partner Universities : Study MBBS in CHINA  -   Study Engineering in CHINA  -   Study MBBS in Philippines  -   Study Engineering in Philippines